You are here: Home > General Information > Concealed Carry Information

Concealed Carry Information

 

Cuyahoga County Sheriff’s Office
Concealed Weapons Licensing Unit
12100 Snow Rd. Suite 15
Parma, OH 44130
(216) 443-5587

Click here to download a copy of the CCW  Information

Concealed Carry Information

 
Qualified individuals wishing to obtain a license to lawfully carry a concealed  handgun must schedule their appointment by visiting the following website.
www.cuyahogacountyccw.checkappointments.com

We do not take walk-in applicants for the CCW or Web-Check (Electronic Fingerprinting).
Applications are processed by APPOINTMENT ONLY.

NOTE: Ohio's Concealed Carry Law has changed effective March 23, 2015.  Please refer to the Ohio Attorney General's website for details at (www.ohioattorneygeneral.gov )

Regular Office Hours Are:

Mondays
Wednesday
Thursday and Friday
9:00am - 4:30pm
9:00am - 4:00pm
9:00am - 6:00pm

The following information is being provided so as to give citizens guidance in applying for a Concealed Carry Permit in Cuyahoga County

DO NOT BRING YOUR FIREARM TO THE SHERIFF’S OFFICE

  1. You must be at least 21 years of age, and first obtain a certificate of training issued by a certified instructor. (The total time required for training is 8 hours with a minimum of 2 hours of in-person training that consists of range time and live-fire training.) THIS TRAINING IS NOT OFFERED BY THE CUYAHOGA COUNTY SHERIFF'S OFFICE. To locate a class, check with local sporting goods stores, gun shops, clubs, colleges, etc.
  2. Insure the instructors offering the weapons training have a certificate of training from a national gun advocacy organization or the Ohio Police Officer Training Academy and are certified as instructors to teach firearms training. Ask to see their credentials and certification.
  3. Upon successful completion of the training and receipt of a firearm's training certificate (valid for three years from date of issuance) from the training entity, you must obtain a "CCW APPLICATION FORM" and the "OHIO CONCEALED CARRY LAW PAMPHLET" as prepared by the Ohio Attorney General's Office. The forms should be made available to you where you obtained your weapons training or on line at: www.ohioattorneygeneral.gov 
  4. The Cuyahoga County Sheriff's Office will process applications by appointment only at the Cuyahoga County Auto Title Bureau at 12100 Snow Road Suite 15, Parma, Ohio 44130.

    DO NOT go to the Justice Center at 1215 West 3rd St., Cleveland, Ohio 44113
    CCW applications cannot be processed there.
  5. Only one applicant will be processed at a time. Your completed application, documentation and method of payment will be reviewed for completeness and accuracy. Your fingerprints will be captured through the Web Check (Electronic Fingerprint) system and sent electronically to the Bureau of Criminal Investigation and Identification for a background check. If you have not been a resident of the State of Ohio for the past 5 consecutive years your fingerprints will also be submitted electronically to the FBI. Your photo will also be taken for your CCW License (you are still required to supply the photo for your application). If the Web-check (Electronic Fingerprint) system is unavailable, or we are unable to successfully capture your fingerprints, we will Ink Roll your fingerprints on a fingerprint card specific for CCW and mail them to BCI/FBI for submission. (This may delay the response time) 
  6. You must provide all required documentation (listed below) to conduct the required background investigation by the Sheriff's Office. You must also pass a federal NICS (National Instant Criminal Background Check System) check to obtain an Ohio Concealed Carry License. The required NICS check is not done by a licensed gun dealer. Within 45 days after your application is processed you will then be notified by mail upon the issuance of your CCW License. You may bring a postage stamp to speed the delivery of your CCW License but it is not required. If you should have any questions about something that you believe to be in your background you should contact an attorney prior to applying. (See the Eligibility Guidelines )

    **IF YOU CANNOT PURCHASE A GUN FROM A FEDERALLY LICENSED GUN DEALER, YOU WILL NOT BE ABLE TO OBTAIN AN OHIO CONCEALED CARRY LICENSE

  7. You will be contacted by certified return receipt mail, to advise you if your application has been denied and the reason for the denial. The appeal process will also be explained in the certified letter if your application is denied. 

  8. In an effort to make the application process efficient, you are asked to show to your scheduled appointment on time, have your application completed and signed prior to arrival, and have all required documentation (listed below). If you need to cancel or reschedule your appointment please following the instructions located in your confirmation e-mail at least 24-48 hours in advance so we can make that time available to another applicant.

    **Failure to provide the required documentation at the time of your appointment may cause your appointment to be rescheduled.**
Any questions anyone may have concerning the Carrying Concealed Weapons law or applying for a "TEMPORARY EMERGENCY PERMIT" can be directed to the Sheriff’s Office by contacting (216)443-5587.

Please Note: On March 23, 2015 HB 234 went into effect. Listed below is a summary of those changes, for the complete law please refer to ORC. 2923.125.
 1. Reciprocity
a. An Ohio resident who possesses a valid concealed handgun license issued from another state that has entered into a reciprocity agreement with the Attorney General, or the Attorney General determines that the eligibility requirements imposed by that other state are substantially comparable to the eligibility requirements in Ohio, that out-of-state license will be recognized in Ohio.
b.   A new resident to the State of Ohio who possesses a valid concealed handgun license from another state that has not entered into a reciprocity agreement with the Attorney General, that out-of-state license will be recognized in Ohio for a period of six months after the person has become a resident of Ohio. After the six-month period, if the person wishes to obtain a concealed handgun license, the person must apply for an Ohio concealed handgun license.
c.   A person who is temporarily in Ohio and has a valid concealed handgun license issued from another state, regardless of whether the other state has entered into a reciprocity agreement with the Attorney General, that out-of-state license will be recognized in Ohio during the time that the person is temporarily in Ohio.

2. Eligibility

a.  Permits a person who does not reside in Ohio to receive or renew a concealed handgun license if the person is employed in Ohio and provides adequate proof of that employment. Application must be made in the county or adjacent to the county where the employer is located.
b.

Allows a person who is a resident of another state to apply for a temporary emergency concealed handgun license. Application must be made in the county in which the person is temporarily staying.

c. 

The Ohio concealed handgun license of a person who is no longer an Ohio resident or no longer employed in Ohio, as applicable, is valid until the expiration date of the license and the person is prohibited from renewing that license.

d.   Exempts a former military member from the competency certification requirement for a concealed handgun license by providing that the person be retired or discharged within the past ten years (instead of six under prior law).
 e.  A person who has been discharged from the U.S. armed forces under dishonorable conditions is prohibited from receiving a concealed handgun license.
 f.  An applicant is ineligible for a concealed handgun license if the applicant's out-of-state concealed handgun license is suspended for reasons similar to the reasons that trigger a license suspension in Ohio.
 g. An alien who has been admitted to the United States under a nonimmigrant visa is prohibited from receiving a concealed handgun license.
 h. The applicant is not an unlawful user of or addicted to any controlled substance, as defined in federal law.
  3. Training 
a.   Reduction to the minimum hours required for a firearms competency certification course from 12 to 8, requires a minimum of two hours of in-person training that consists of range
b.   A firearms safety, training, or requalification or firearms safety instructor course, class, or program can be offered by or under the auspices of a national gun advocacy organization instead of specifically the National Rifle Association as provided under prior law.
c.   A firearms safety, training, or requalification or firearms safety instructor course, class, or program can be taught by qualified instructors certified by a national gun advocacy organization, instead of specifically certified by the National Rifle Association as provided under prior law.

4. Criminal Records Check

a. 

Requires a sheriff, as part of a criminal records check, to contact the National Instant Criminal Background Check System (NICS) to verify that the applicant is eligible lawfully to receive or possess a firearm in the United States (R.C. 311.41(A)(1) and (E)(2)).

5. Renewal grace period for active duty service members

a. 

Allows a six-month concealed handgun license renewal grace period for individuals who are on active duty in the armed forces or in service with the Peace Corps, the Volunteers in Service to America, or the foreign service of the United States, or is the spouse or dependent of such a person. 

6. Chief Law Enforcement Officer Certification (CLEO)

a.

An Ohio resident may submit to the sheriff of the county in which the resident resides or to the sheriff of any adjacent county any federal form that requires a law enforcement certification by a chief law enforcement officer.

b.

 That certification will be processed in the same manner as an application for a concealed handgun license, including the requirement for a background check, except that if a resident submits one or more federal forms, submits one or more federal forms and currently has a concealed handgun license, or the sheriff has previously approved a federal form for that resident, the sheriff must charge the person only one fee.

c. "Certification" is defined as the participation and assent of the chief law enforcement officer necessary under federal law for the approval of an application to make or transfer a firearm.
d "Chief Law Enforcement Officer" is defined as any official the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives, or any successor agency, identifies by regulation or otherwise as eligible to provide any required certification for the making or transfer of a firearm.

7. Out of State Firearms Purchase

a.

Permits an Ohio resident to purchase a rifle, shotgun, or ammunition in any state by eliminating a law that allowed residents of Ohio who are age 18 or over to purchase those items only in Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Pennsylvania, or West Virginia.

 b.

 Allows a resident of any state to purchase a rifle, shotgun, or ammunition in Ohio by repealing a law that only allowed residents of Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Pennsylvania, or West Virginia to do so.

REQUIRED DOCUMENTATION

  If you are applying for the FIRST TIME, you need the following:

  • Current Application (can be obtained at www.ohioattorneygeneral.gov )
  • Original Training Certificate and one photo copy Current State of Ohio
  • Driver's License or State of Ohio issued Identification Card
  • Current "Ohio's Concealed Carry Law" book (we can provide one if you do not have it)
  • One Color “Passport-sized” (2”x2”) Photo (taken within the last 30 days)
  • For fees please see the FEE SCHEDULE below
If you are Retired Law Enforcement with a minimum of 15 years of employment, the application fee is waived; also if you are applying for your CCW license no longer than 5 years from your date of retirement; the following documentation replaces the training certificate:

  • Department issued Retired Identification Card
  • Letter from your agency stating you years of employment, and that you have left in good standing.
  • Most recent range scores
If at the time you are applying, you have exceeded five years from date of retirement but currently qualify for the H.R. 218 (LEOSA) license you may submit those range scores also in lieu of a training certificate. If you have not qualified within 5 years from your date of retirement, you will need to take a CCW Course. CCW Training certificates are valid for three years from date of issuance.

If you are an Ohio resident and are Active Duty Military or have an Honorable Discharge with a separation date that does not exceed 6 years from the date of application; the following documentation replaces the training certificate:

  • Military Issued Identification Card (if active duty including Reserves)
  • DD214 showing an honorable discharge within the last 6 years
  • Proof of current weapons training i.e. Range Proficiency, Weapons Card, etc.
If you are an out of state resident but are stationed in Cuyahoga County as Active Duty Military you will need the above documentation including your military orders placing you here in Cuyahoga County.

If you are RENEWING your current license, you will need the following:
(In order to prevent a lapse in your license the State of Ohio allows you to apply for a renewal up to 90 days prior to the expiration date listed on your license)

  • Current Application (can be obtained at www.ohioattorneygeneral.gov )
  • Current State of Ohio Driver's License or State of Ohio issued Identification Card
  • Current Concealed Handgun License
  • One Color “Passport-sized” (2”x2”) Photo (taken within the last 30 days)
  • For fees please see the FEE SCHEDULE below

*FIRST RENEWAL:
It is NOT necessary to attach a copy of your training certificate to your renewal application. Present your valid or expired Ohio Concealed Carry License with your application.

*SECOND & SUBSEQUENT RENEWAL(S):
NOTE: ON MARCH 27, 2013, HB 495 BECAME LAW; AND ELIMINATES THE REQUIREMENT TO OBTAIN A "RENEWED COMPETENCY" CERTIFICATE PRIOR TO OBTAINING THE SECOND (OR SUBSEQUENT) RENEWAL OF A CONCEALED HANDGUN LICENSE.

If you are currently renewing your license for the second or subsequent time, no additional training is necessary.

If you are in need of a Replacement license due to your original license being lost or stolen you will need to schedule an appointment. To that appointment you will need to bring the following items listed below. (Upon completion of your appointment you will be issued a replacement card prior to leaving.)

  • Current State of Ohio Driver's License or State of Ohio issued Identification Card

  • A police report showing that you have reported your license lost or stolen

  • For fees please see the FEE SCHEDULE below

If you should need to report a change of address you can simply mail this office a letter that includes:  

  • Name
  • CCW License Number
  • Old Address
  • New Address
  • Mail it to the following:
    Cuyahoga County Sheriff’s Office
    Attn: Concealed Weapons Licensing Unit
    12100 Snow Rd. Suite 15
    Parma, OH 44130 

    Once your letter is processed we will update your information in our system. If you want your current CCW license updated with your new address, you will need to schedule an appointment; the fee is the same as a replacement.
     
    Name changes need to be processed in person; the fee is the same as a replacement. You will need to schedule an appointment and bring the following documentation:

    • Current State of Ohio Driver's License or State of Ohio issued Identification Card with your new legal name listed
    • Marriage Certificate or a Journal entry from Probate Court

      stating your new legal name signed by a judge/magistrate

    FEE SCHEDULE

    (All fees are Non-Refundable):

    • New Issue - Resident for more than 5 continuous years:
    $67.00
    • New Issue - Resident for less than 5 continuous years:
    $91.00
    • New Issue - Non-Resident (Employed/Stationed in Ohio):
    $91.00
    • Renewal - Resident for more than 5 continuous years:
    $50.00 
    • Renewal - Resident for less than 5 continuous years:
    $74.00
    • Renewal - Non-Resident (Employed/Stationed in Ohio):
    $74.00
    • Temporary Emergency - Resident for more than 5 continuous years:
    $37.00
    • Temporary Emergency - Resident for less than 5 continuous years:
    $61.00
    • Temporary Emergency - Non-resident Temporarily in Ohio:
    $61.00
    • Replacement:
    $15.00
    One of the following methods of payment must be made payable to the Cuyahoga County Treasurer:

    • MONEY ORDER
    • CASHIER’S CHECK
    • CERTIFIED BANK CHECK
    • We will not accept Cash, Personal or Business Checks

    *Note: Payments not made payable to "The Cuyahoga County Treasurer" will not be accepted. This may cause your appointment to be rescheduled.

    *Note: An Applicant who knowingly gives a false answer to any question or submits false information or a false document with the application may be prosecuted for FALSIFICATION TO OBTAIN A CONCEALED HANDGUN LICENSE. A FELONY of the FOURTH DEGREE, in violation of section 2921.13 of the Ohio Revised Code.

     In the Attorney General’s publication, “CCW “stands for “carrying a concealed weapon” and refers to the Ohio license to carry a concealed handgun pursuant to Ohio Revised Code Section 2923.125. The publication is a summary of prevailing firearms and self defense laws and may be updated without notice. It is not intended to be a substitute for the advice of a lawyer or common sense. The Revised Code is available online and also may be found at law libraries and some public libraries. Citizens are encouraged to read the law themselves and use that publication as a guide.

    For the most up-to-date information on carrying a concealed handgun, visit the Attorney General’s website at
    www.ohioattorneygeneral.gov


    ELIGIBILITY GUIDELINES

    APPLICANT WILL BE DISQUALIFIED IF ANY OF THE FOLLOWING APPLIES:
    1. If applicant has been charged or under indictment for:
    o Any felony
    o Drug Trafficking
    o Misdemeanor offense of violence
    o Negligent assault
    o Falsification to obtain carry concealed license
    o Possess a revoked or suspended carry concealed license
    o Including conspiracy, complicity, or attempt to commit any of the above offenses

    2. If applicant has been CONVICTED or has been adjudicated a delinquent child under the following offenses:
    o Any felony
    o Any drug offense
    o Assault on a peace officer
    o Domestic Violence
    o Including conspiracy, complicity, or attempt to commit any of the above offenses

    3. If applicant has been convicted or has been adjudicated a delinquent child under the following offenses within 3 years:
    o A misdemeanor offense of violence
    o Assault (903.13)
    o Aggravated Menacing (2903.21)
    o Menacing by Stalking (2903.21.1)
    o Menacing (2903.22)
    o Arson (2909.03)
    o Riot (2917.03)
    o Endangering Children (2919.22)
    o Intimidation Victim/Witness (2921.04)
    o Escape (2919.22)
    o Discharge of Firearm at or into habitation or school safety zone (2923.16.1)

    4. If applicant has ever been convicted of, or charged with an offense of violence ORC 2901.01 or an offense, other than a traffic offense, under an existing or former municipal ordinance or law of its or any other state or the United States, committed purposely or knowingly, and involving physical harm to persons or a risk of serious physical harm to persons. This includes any conspiracy or attempt to commit, or complicity in committing any offense of violence.

    5. If applicant has been convicted or has been adjudicated a delinquent child under the following offenses within 5 years:
       o 2 or more assaults, or 2 or more negligent assaults

    6.If applicant has been convicted or has been adjudicated a delinquent child under the following offenses within 10 years. Resisting arrest

    7. If applicant is or has been: adjudicated as a mental defective; committed to any mental institution; under a current adjudication of incompetence; been found by a court to be a mentally ill person; subject to hospitalization by court order; or an involuntary patient other than for purposes or observation

    8. Unlawful user of, or addicted to any controlled substance.

    9. If applicant is subject to any temporary protection order or civil protection order in Ohio or any other state.

    10. If applicant is a Fugitive from Justice.

    11. If applicant has had a concealed carry license Issued by another state suspended.

    12. If applicant has been discharged from the Armed Forces under dishonorable conditions.

    13. If applicant has renounced their United States citizenship.