You are here: Home > CCW

Concealed Carry Information

Cuyahoga County Sheriff’s Office
Concealed Weapons Licensing Unit
12100 Snow Rd. Suite 15
Parma, OH 44130
(216) 443-5587

Concealed Carry Information

Qualified individuals wishing to obtain a license to lawfully carry a concealed  handgun must schedule their appointment by visiting the following website.

Additional Links:

Web Check/Fingerprints -

We do not take walk-in applicants for the CCW or Web-Check (Electronic Fingerprinting).

Applications are processed by
NOTE: Ohio's Concealed Carry Law has changed effective November 5, 2018.  Please refer to the Ohio Attorney General's website for details at :  Please refer to the Ohio Attorney General's website for details at

Regular Office Hours Are:  
8:30 -  3:30pm
8:30 -  3:30pm
8:30 -  3:30pm
8:30 -  3:30pm
The following information is being provided so as to give citizens guidance in applying for a Concealed Carry Permit in Cuyahoga County.
  1. You must be at least 21 years of age, and first obtain a certificate of training issued by a certified firearms instructor. (The total time required for training is 8 hours with a minimum of 2 hours of in-person training that consists of range time and live-fire training.)

    (To locate a training class, check with local sporting goods stores, gun shops, gun clubs, etc.)
  2. Insure the instructors offering the training have a certificate of training from a national gun advocacy organization or the Ohio Peace Officer Training Academy and are certified as instructors to teach firearms training. Ask to see their credentials and certification.
  3. Upon successful completion of the required training and receipt of a firearm training certificate (which is only valid for three years from date of issuance) from the training entity, you must obtain a "CCW APPLICATION FORM" and the "OHIO CONCEALED CARRY LAW PAMPHLET" as prepared by the Ohio Attorney General's Office. The forms should be made available to you where you obtained your weapons training or on line at: 
     (The application is located in the center of the Ohio Concealed Carry Law Pamphlet)
  4. The Cuyahoga County Sheriff's Office will process applications by appointment only at the Cuyahoga County Auto Title Bureau at 12100 Snow Road Suite 15, Parma, Ohio 44130.

    DO NOT go to the Justice Center at 1215 West 3rd St., Cleveland, Ohio.
    CCW Applications cannot be processed there.
  5. Only one applicant will be processed at a time. Your completed application, required documentation and method of payment will be reviewed for completeness and accuracy. Your fingerprints will be captured through the National Web Check system (Electronic Fingerprint) and submitted to the Bureau of Criminal Investigation and Identification for a background check. If you have not been a resident of the State of Ohio for the past 5 consecutive years your fingerprints will also be submitted to the FBI. Your photo will also be taken for your CCW License only. (You are still required to supply the photo for your application. The photo you supply will not be used for your license.) 

    ** Please note: If the Web-check (Electronic Fingerprint) system is unavailable for any reason, or we are unable to successfully capture your fingerprints, we will Ink Roll your fingerprints on a fingerprint card specific for CCW and mail them to BCI/FBI for submission. (This may delay the response time)**
  6. You must provide all required documentation (listed below) to conduct the required background investigation by the Sheriff's Office. You must also pass a federal NICS (National Instant Criminal Background Check System) check to obtain an Ohio Concealed Carry License. The required NICS check is not done by a licensed gun dealer. Within 45 days after your application is processed you will then be notified by mail upon the issuance of your CCW License.  If you should have any questions about something that you believe to be in your background you should contact an attorney prior to applying. (See the Eligibility Guidelines)  

  7. You will be contacted by certified return receipt mail, to advise you if your application has been denied and the reason for the denial. An appeal process information sheet will also be included with the denial letter.
  8. In an effort to make the application process efficient, you are asked to:
    • Show to your scheduled appointment on time.
    • Have your application completed prior to arrival.
    • Have all required documentation present at the time of your appointment. (listed below).
  9. If you need to cancel or reschedule your appointment please follow the instructions located in your confirmation e-mail at least 24-48 hours in advance so we can make that time available to another applicant.

      **Failure to provide the required documentation at the time of your appointment may cause your appointment to be rescheduled.**

      Any questions anyone may have concerning the Carrying Concealed Weapons law or applying for a "TEMPORARY EMERGENCY PERMIT" can be directed to the Sheriff’s Office by contacting (216)443-5587.

      Please Note: On March 21, 2017 SB 199 went into effect. Listed below is a summary of those changes, for the complete law please refer to ORC. 2923.125.

    1. Concealed Carry law applicable to active duty military members

    • Specifies that an active duty member of the U.S. armed forces who is carrying valid military identification and documentation of successful completion of sufficient firearms training has the same right to carry a concealed handgun as a concealed handgun licensee and is subject to the same restrictions as apply to a licensee.
    • Expands to qualifying members of the military exemptions to offenses related to possessing a firearm in a vessel, D-liquor permit premises, a school safety zone, a courthouse, or a motor vehicle, and to carrying a concealed weapon that formerly applied only to concealed handgun licensees.
    • Specifies penalties that apply to a qualifying member of the military who cannot promptly produce the required documents demonstrating the person's authority to carry a concealed handgun.
    • Requires a qualifying member of the military who has a loaded handgun in a motor vehicle and is approached by a law enforcement officer or a Motor Carrier Enforcement Unit employee to notify the officer or employee of the concealed handgun, and follow certain other requirements, and specifies associated penalties.
    • Specifies that prohibitions against selling a firearm to a person under age 18 or selling a handgun to a person under age 21 do not apply to the sale or furnishing of a handgun to a qualifying member of the military.
    • Directs the Attorney General to create and maintain a section on its website that provides information on state firearms laws applicable to military members.
    • Senate Bill 81 (effective 11/5/18) waives the license fee that is otherwise required to obtain a concealed handgun license for applicants who are active or reserve members of the U.S. armed forces, or who have retired from or were honorably discharged from U.S. military service. S.B. 81 caps the waiver of license fees at $1,500,000 annually. 
    • Senate Bill 81 permits an applicant for a concealed handgun license who has retired from or has honorably discharged from U.S. military service to submit evidence of the military service as proof of competency, regardless of the date that the applicant retired or was honorably discharged.

    2.  Places where carrying a concealed handgun is restricted

    A.  Institutions of higher education

    • Permits a concealed handgun licensee to carry on the premises of an institution of higher education if the institution's board of trustees or other governing body authorizes it.
    • Sets special penalties for the offense of carrying a concealed handgun when it involves the unauthorized carrying of a concealed handgun on the premises of an institution of higher education, ranging from a minor misdemeanor to a second degree misdemeanor.
    • Grants institutions of higher education immunity from civil liability allegedly caused by or related to a concealed carry licensee bringing a handgun onto an institution's premises, unless the institution acted with malicious purpose.

    B. Day-care centers

    • Removes day-care centers and homes from the list of places into which a concealed handgun may not be carried.
    • Creates special penalties for violating a posted prohibition against carrying weapons or concealed weapons at a day-care facility.

    C.  School safety zones

    • Exempts a person from the prohibition against carrying a concealed handgun in a school safety zone if the person has a concealed handgun license or is a qualifying military member, leaves the handgun in the motor vehicle, and if the person exits the motor vehicle, locks the motor vehicle.
    • Permits a law enforcement officer who is authorized to carry deadly weapons or dangerous ordnance to carry within a school safety zone, regardless of whether the officer is acting within the scope of the officer's duties.
    • Exempts use of an object indistinguishable from a firearm in school safety training from the prohibition against possessing such objects in a school safety zone.

    3. Transporting or storing a firearm or ammunition on private property

    • Prohibits a business entity, property owner, or employer from establishing, maintaining, or enforcing a policy that prohibits a concealed handgun licensee from transporting or  storing a firearm or ammunition in the person's privately owned motor vehicle under specified circumstances.
    • Provides immunity for a business entity, property owner, or employer in a lawsuit for injury or death caused by another person's actions involving a firearm or ammunition transported or stored in the person's motor vehicle, unless the business or person intentionally solicited or procured the other person's injurious actions.



    If you are applying for the FIRST TIME, you need the following:

    • Current Application (can be obtained at )
    • Original Training Certificate and one photo copy of it
    • Current Driver's License or State issued Identification Card
      • If Non-Resident employed in Ohio: Proof of Employment letter from your Human Resources Office
    • Current "Ohio's Concealed Carry Law" book (we can provide one if you do not have it)
    • One 2 inch x 2 inch (Passport-size) Color Photo (taken within the last 30 days)
    • For fees please see the FEE SCHEDULE below


    If you are Retired Law Enforcement with a minimum of 15 years of employment, the application fee is waived; also if you are applying for your CCW license no longer than 5 years from your date of retirement; the following documentation replaces the training certificate:

    • Department issued Retired Identification Card
    • Letter from your agency stating you years of employment, and that you have left in good standing. 
    • Most recent range scores

    If at the time you are applying, you have exceeded five years from date of your retirement but currently qualify for the H.R. 218 (LEOSA) license you may submit those range scores also in lieu of a training certificate. If you have not qualified within 5 years from your date of retirement, you will need to take a CCW Course. CCW Training certificates are valid for three years from date of issuance.


    If you are an Ohio resident and are Active Duty Military or have an Honorable Discharge with a separation date that does not exceed 10 years from the date of application; the following documentation replaces the training certificate:

    • Military Issued Identification Card (if active duty including Reserves)
    • DD214 showing an honorable discharge within the last 10 years
    • Proof of current handgun training i.e. Range Proficiency, Weapons Card, etc.

    If you are an out of state resident but are stationed in Cuyahoga County as Active Duty Military you will need the above documentation including your military orders placing you here in Cuyahoga County.

    Please note the CCW Law has changed concerning Active Duty Military as of March 21, 2017

    Concealed Handgun License Information for Armed Forces Members

    As a member of the armed forces, you may not need to obtain a concealed handgun license to carry under certain circumstances. If you are an active duty member of the armed forces of the United States and you have a valid military identification card and you have documentation of successful firearms training that meets or exceeds that required of Ohio licensees, you do not need to obtain an Ohio license. You may also transport a loaded firearm in a vessel under the same circumstances as a concealed carry permit holder.

    Under federal and state law, "active duty" means full-time duty in the active military service of the United States. The term includes full-time training duty, annual training duty, and attendance, while in the active military service, at a school designated as a service school by law or by the Secretary of the military department concerned. The term does not include full-time National Guard duty. Several different military identification cards may be acceptable as valid. A valid military identification card may be the Uniformed Services ID Card, also known as the Common Access Card, is commonly used by the armed forces.

    For more information, consult these statutes: ORC 1547.699(H)(2), 2923.11(R), 2923.12(F)(6), 10 USC 101(d)(1) 


    If you are RENEWING your current license, you will need the following items:
    • Current Application (can be obtained at
    • Current Driver's License or state issued Identification Card 

        * If Non-Resident employed in Ohio: Proof of Employment letter from   your Human Resources Office
    • Current (valid or expired) Concealed Handgun License
    • One 2 inch x 2 inch (Passport-size) Color Photo (taken within the last 30 days)
    • For fees please see the FEE SCHEDULE below
    • A renewal can be obtained at anytime prior to expiration of the current license


    It is NOT necessary to attach a copy of your training certificate to your renewal application. Present your valid or expired Ohio Concealed Carry License with your application.



    If you are renewing your license for the second or subsequent time, no additional training is necessary



    If you are in need of a Replacement license due to your original license being destroyed, lost or stolen you will need to schedule an appointment. To that appointment you will need to bring the following items listed below. 

    • Current Driver's License or state issued Identification Card
    • A police report showing that you have reported your license lost or stolen
    • The fee for a Replacement is $15.00
    • (Fee is payable by Money Order, Cashier’s Check, or Certified Bank Check)
    IF you are still in possession of your valid CCW License, and you are getting a replacement because your license is damaged or no longer legible you will not need a Police Report, just bring the damaged license along with your fee and current Driver’s License or state issued Identification card and we will reissue you a new card.

    (Upon completion of your appointment you will be issued a replacement card prior to leaving.)


    If you should need to report a change of address
    you can simply mail this office a letter that includes: 

    • Name
    • CCW License Number
    • Old Address
    • New Address
    • Mail it to the following:

      Cuyahoga County Sheriff’s Office
      Attn: Concealed Weapons Licensing Unit
      12100 Snow Rd. Suite 15
      Parma, OH 44130

    • Sign and Date Letter


    Name changes need to be processed in person; the fee is the same as a replacement. You will need to schedule an appointment and bring the following documentation:

    • Current Driver's License or state issued Identification card with your new legal name listed
    • Marriage Certificate or a Journal entry from Probate Court stating your new legal name signed by a judge/magistrate
    (Upon completion of your appointment you will be issued a replacement card prior to leaving.)


    (All fees are Non-Refundable):
    New Issue - Resident for more than 5 continuous years:
    New Issue - Resident for less than 5 continuous years:
    New Issue - Non-Resident (Employed/Stationed in Ohio):
    Renewal - Resident for more than 5 continuous years:
    Renewal - Non-Resident (Employed/Stationed in Ohio):
    Temporary Emergency - Resident for more than 5 continuous years:
    Temporary Emergency - Resident for less than 5 continuous years:
    Temporary Emergency - Non-resident Temporarily in Ohio


    We Will only accept the following methods of payment
    Payment must be made payable to: Cuyahoga County Treasurer
    We will not accept Cash, Credit/Debit Cards, Personal or Business Checks
    *Note: Payments not made payable to "Cuyahoga County Treasurer" will not be accepted. This may cause your appointment to be rescheduled.

    * NOTE: An Applicant who knowingly gives a false answer to any question or submits false information or a false document with the application may be prosecuted for FALSIFICATION TO OBTAIN A CONCEALED HANDGUN LICENSE. A FELONY of the FOURTH DEGREE, in violation of section 2921.13 of the Ohio Revised Code.

    In the Attorney General’s publication, “CCW “stands for “carrying a concealed weapon” and refers to the Ohio license to carry a concealed handgun pursuant to Ohio Revised Code Section 2923.125.

    The publication is a summary of prevailing firearms and self-defense laws and may be updated without notice. It is not intended to be a substitute for the advice of a lawyer or common sense. The Revised Code is available online and also may be found at law libraries and some public libraries. Citizens are encouraged to read the law themselves and use that publication as a guide.

    For the most up-to-date information on carrying a concealed handgun, visit the Attorney General’s website at



    Click here to view or print a copy of the Eligibility Guidelines